Tag Archives: Tripura Assembly Election Nomination

Voting underway for 60 Assembly seats in Tripura


Agartala: Voting for the Tripura assembly elections began Thursday amidst tight security, an official said.

Men and women in large numbers queued up in front of polling stations well before voting opened at 7 am in the entire state. Polling ends at 4 p.m., said chief electoral officer Ashutosh Jindal.

In all, 23,55,446 people, about half of them women, are eligible to exercise their franchise to decide the fate of 249 candidates, including 15 women and many independents.

“Apprehending trouble by separatist outfits and possible violence, a record 40,000 paramilitary and other security personnel have been deployed, while two air surveillance teams led by senior police officials are conducting air surveillance,” the election official said.

“The Election Commission has deployed specially modified electronic voting machines in all the 3,041 polling stations across the state to check possible malpractice and other irregularities,” he added.

About 18,000 poll officials, including four teams of polling personnel comprising all women, have been posted to conduct the elections.

The Election Commission has also appointed over 2,000 micro-observers to assist 48 general, expenditure and police observers to oversee electioneering.

Thursday’s vote would decide the fate of Chief Minister Manik Sarkar, his 11 cabinet colleagues, former chief minister and senior Congress leader Samir Ranjan Burman, his son and state Congress president Sudip Roy Barman, opposition leader Ratan Lal Nath, Indigenous Nationalist Party of Tripura (INPT) president and former militant leader Bijoy Kumar Hrangkhawl among others.

After a month-long campaign for the polls, the ruling Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) led Left Front is locked in a direct fight against the three-party opposition alliance led by Congress.



Source: http://zeenews.india.com/news

Tripura Assembly polls: 251 aspirants to contest

Agartala: A total of 251 candidates, including representatives of 16 political parties and independents, will contest the Feb 14 elections for the 60-member Tripura assembly, officials said here on Friday.

Of the 251 contenders, 14 are women and 25 are independents. In the last assembly elections in 2008, 313 candidates, including 18 women, had contested the polls.

“Altogether 296 candidates have filed nominations for the elections. During scrutiny, 30 nominations were rejected due to various reasons and 15 candidates withdrew their candidature,” Tripura Chief Electoral Officer Ashutosh Jindal told reporters here.

Thursday was the last date for withdrawing nominations.

Jindal said: “For the first time in Tripura four all-women polling stations will be set up to conduct the elections.”

The ruling Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M)-led Left Front and main opposition Congress and its ally Indigenous Nationalist Party of Tripura (INPT) will field candidates in all the 60 Assembly segments, while the Bharatiya Janata Party will field 50 candidates.

Jindal said the poll panel has announced several measures and strategies to hold the assembly elections free, fair and with absolute neutrality.

The panel will form flying-squads led by a magistrate to check illegal arms, distribution of money and other unlawful materials during the polls.

 Besides Tripura, two more northeastern states — Meghalaya and Nagaland — will go to polls next month (Feb 23).

The commission will also deploy observers in each district of the election-bound states.

“The observers will monitor whether candidates are exceeding stipulated limit of expenditure, violating any model code of conduct and causing any ethnic or law and order problem,” the official said.

Over 20,000 polling personnel would be deployed to conduct the elections in 3,018 polling stations in Tripura.


The ECI has transferred six senior civil officials, including a district magistrate and four senior police officials, and barred them from election duties in Tripura.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, her son and party vice-president Rahul Gandhi, chief ministers of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh and Manipur are among the leaders likely to campaign for the Congress in Tripura.

West Bengal opposition leader Surya Kanta Mishra, CPI-M general secretary Prakash Karat, party’s Polit Bureau members Sitaram Yechury, Brinda Karat and Biman Basu and a host of other Left party leaders are also expected to campaign in the state for the Left Front.



Source: http://zeenews.india.com/news