Tag Archives: Karnataka

BS Yeddyurappa says he’s not a part of BJP, to launch new party on December 10

Disgruntled former Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa is finally set to break away from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Yeddyurappa has said that he is not in the BJP and he will formally announce a new party on December 10.
“I am not going to talk anything related to BJP, because I am not in the party. So I am not going to talk anything related to that party. I am going to start a new party on the December 10,” Yeddyurappa said.
Yeddyurappa had earlier said he would embark on a statewide tour after resigning his Assembly membership in December. Sources close to the leader say Yeddyurappa has finalised plans to float a regional outfit in Karnataka ahead of the next year’s assembly polls. He has invited leaders from all districts for a discussion, the sources said.
Accusing the party leadership of deceiving him, the former Karnataka chief minister had earlier indicated he might launch his own party by year-end. Yeddyurappa, who quit the chief ministership in July 2011 over mining bribery charges, has been slamming both national and state BJP leaders for not reinstating him as chief minister or appointing him as Karnataka BJP chief.

Source: http://ibnlive.in.com/news/bs-yeddyurappa-says-hes-not-a-part-of-bjp-to-launch-new-party-on-december-10/301789-62-129.html

K’taka Legislative Council poll: BJP wins 4 seats

Bangalore: The ruling BJP in Karnataka has bagged four seats and Janata Dal (S) one in elections held to six seats of the Legislative Council from Graduates and Teachers constituencies.

The Congress drew a blank in Sunday’s election with results in five constituencies declared today.

The BJP winners are: Y A Narayanaswamy (South-East Teachers-constituency), former Higher Education Minister and Legislative Council Chairman DH Shankaramurthy (South-West Graduates), Ganesh Karnik (South-West Teachers) and Amarnath Patil (North-East Graduates).

Marithibbe Gowda of JD (S) was declared elected from South Teachers constituency, officials said.




Source: http://zeenews.india.com/news/karnataka/k-taka-legislative-council-poll-bjp-wins-4-seats_781707.html

Congress nominee loses in Karnataka council poll

Bangalore: The Congress suffered a setback in the Karnataka legislative council poll Monday, as one of its four nominees lost due to cross-voting in the secret ballot, while Independent candidate Byrathy Suresh won with maximum votes.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), however, survived a scare to get six of its candidates elected, with two of them on second preferential votes.

Of the 12 candidates in the fray for the 11 seats for which polling was held at Vidhana Soudha earlier in the day, BJP won six, Congress three, Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) one and Independents one.

Only state legislative assembly members (MLAs) participate in the council election.

In accordance with the assembly strength, a candidate requires 19 votes to get elected to the upper house (council).

Of the 225-member house, including a nominated member, 222 votes were polled, as one vote of BJP member (Rudresh Gowda) was declared invalid, while two members, including Independent B. Sriramulu and BJP’s Nandish Reddy were not present to vote.

With 71 members in the lower house, though the Congress fielded four nominees, it counted on the five independents to get its candidate Iqbal Ahmed Saradgi the required (19) votes after ensuring 57 votes for three of them. It was not to be.

Due to cross-voting in the fiction-ridden party, Saradgi could musteronly 16 votes, losing the keen contest by three votes, while the party’s other three nominees – Motamma, K. Govindaraj and M.R. Seetharam sailed through.

 Similarly, with 120 members, the ruling party’s (BJP) candidates should have won all the six seats comfortably, with six surplus votes. Instead of getting 20 votes each, two of its six nominees polled 19 votes and were declared elected only on second preferential votes, thanks to cross-voting by some of its “unidentified” members.
The JD-S, with 26 members, not only got its official nominee S.M. Agha elected on first count, but also ensured its seven surplus votes to Suresh, who secured 23 votes with 16 from the BJP and the Congress due to cross-voting.

A BJP spokesperson said the party would enquire to ascertain if there was cross-voting by its lawmakers, while the Congress said it would assess how its calculations went awry resulting in Saradgi’s defeat.

55% voting for six Council seats in Karnataka

Bangalore: An estimated 55 per cent electorate cast their ballots in the elections to six Legislative Council seats from the Graduates and Teachers constituencies in Karnataka on Sunday.

“The polling was peaceful,” a state election commission official said.

A total of 38 and 23 candidates were in the fray for three Graduates and Teachers constituencies each.

Elections were held to Karnataka South-East, South-West and South Teachers’ constituencies, and Karnataka North-East, South-West and Bangalore Graduates’ constituencies.

Counting will take place on June 13.



Source: http://zeenews.india.com/news/karnataka/55-voting-for-six-council-seats-in-karnataka_781056.html

Udupi Lok Sabha bypoll result: Congress leads

Bangalore: The Congress took an early lead over ruling Bharatiya Janata Party in Karnataka as counting of votes cast in the March 18 bypoll in the Udupi-Chikmagalur Lok Sabha constituency began Wednesday.

After an hour of counting that began at 8 am, K Jayaprakash Hegde of Congress, a former minister, had bagged over 25,000 votes to BJP’s youth leader V Sunil Kumar who got around 22,000 votes, state election authorities said in Bangalore.

Janata Dal-Secular nominee SL Bhoje Gowda was third with over 4,000 votes.

Around 68 percent of the 1.24 million eligible voters had cast their ballots in the bypoll caused by BJP’s DV Sadananda Gowda vacating the seat after becoming Chief Minister in August last year.


K’taka: BJP announces candidates for RS polls

Bangalore: The ruling BJP today announced the candidature of R Ramakrishna and Basavaraj Patil Sedam for Rajya Sabha elections from Karnataka.

Ramakrishna, a retired bureaucrat, is the party’s central election cell convener, while Sedam is a former President of the state unit, BJP sources said.

The Congress has already nominated Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairperson, K Rahman Khan for the March 30 poll.

Given their strength in the Legislative Assembly, which forms the electoral college, the BJP and the Congress can easily get their candidates elected.

Today is the last day for filing nominations.

JDS, with 26 MLAs, cannot get its nominee elected on its own.