Tag Archives: CPM

Piravom bypoll: Congress wins with huge margin

New Delhi: UDF candidate Anoop Jacob on Wednesday won the Piravom bypoll, which saw a stiff fight between the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) and CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF), by a huge margin of 12,071 votes.
A record polling of 86.3 per cent was registered in the constituency.
Anoop Jacob beat his LDF rival MJ Jacob.
The bypoll was necessitated following the death of former minister, TM Jacob, father of Anoop Jacob.
With the death of TM Jacob, the UDF strength in the 140 member Assembly had gone down to 71, while in the LDF camp, the recent resignation of Neyyatinkara MLA, Selvraj has reduced its strength to 67.
TM Jacob had won by a slender margin of 157 votes in 2011 assembly polls.